
   

 
 
   

 
   

 

The Jury  
System and  
Employers...  

 
 

The right to a trial by jury is written into the United States and Nebraska Constitutions 
and is a fundamental right guaranteed to every citizen. Our system of justice depends on 
the willingness of private citizens to serve on juries and to make important decisions in 
court cases. The courts of the state are also depending on you as an employer to treat your 
employees fairly and excuse them from their regular work day without penalty for jury 
duty. Remember, jurors are selected randomly and are limited in their length of service.  

Please help serve justice in Nebraska by supporting your employees throughout their 
service to Nebraska’s courts.  

Dealing with Your Temporary or “On Call” Employees  

All employees, whether temporary or “on call,” are required to come to court when 
served with a jury summons. Please encourage these employees to participate in the 
system by allowing flexibility in their job schedules.  

Returning to Work and Serving Partial Days  

Your employee may be required to serve anywhere from 1 day to several weeks 
depending upon the case or whether your employee is chosen to serve on a jury. Your 
employee may be required to check in with the court from day to day to see if he or she 
will be required to report for jury duty that day. The daily check-in procedure may last 
for several days or weeks, depending on the practice of the court in your county.  

You should make arrangements with your employee concerning returning to work if he 
or she is released from service earlier than expected.  

 
   



 

Juror  
Compensation  

 
 

Your employee will be paid a juror fee of $35 per day for each required service day.  

How do I pay my Employee?  

There are several options for you in working out payment with your employee.  

Employers may pay their employees their regular wage without regard to the juror 
fee, which is paid to the employee.The employee may sign over his or her jury 
service check to the employer.The employer may deduct the juror fee from the 
employee’s wages. (Please keep in mind that the county may not be able to send 
the employee their juror check for several weeks after their service.) 

 
   

 

Nebraska 
Statute  
25-1640 
states: 

 
 

“Any person who is summoned to serve on jury duty shall not be subject to discharge 
from employment, loss of pay, loss of sick leave, loss of vacation time, or any other form 
of penalty, as a result of his or her absence from employment due to such jury duty, upon 
giving reasonable notice to his or her employer of such summons. Any person who is 
summoned to serve on jury duty shall be excused upon request from any shift work for 
those days required to serve as a juror without loss of pay. No employer shall subject an 
employee to discharge, loss of pay, loss of sick leave, loss of vacation time, or any other 
form of penalty on account of his or her absence from employment by reason of jury 
duty, except that an employer may reduce the pay of an employee by an amount equal to 
any compensation, other than expenses, paid by the court for jury duty. Any person 
violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class IV misdemeanor.”  

 
   



 

Jury  
Service  

 
 

The administration of justice is not a process in which shortcuts should be taken simply 
to speed up the procedure. The determination of truth and the fair and equitable 
application of the laws are important.  

By supporting employees who serve on juries, you have the privilege of assisting the 
administration of justice. In addition, you will probably find that your employee's 
participation as an officer of the court is an interesting and educational experience.  

 

For persons with disabilities, this brochure will be made available in other formats upon 
request. Call the Office of the State Court Administrator (402) 471-3730.  
   
   

 


