Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
We will not set up genetic testing for you if you have signed a notarized Acknowledgment of Paternity on the form promulgated by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services and the rescission period has expired. See Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Child Support Regulations § 6-009.03. See also Nebraska Rev. Statute § 43-1409.
If genetic testing determines that you are not the father of the child, you will not be asked to pay for the testing. If genetic testing determines that you are the father of the child, you might be asked to reimburse the State for the cost of the testing.
$30 per person tested
Example: Mom/Dad/child = $90, Mom/Dad/2 children = $120
If paternity is an issue in your case, you have the right to request a court-appointed attorney. If you request a court-appointed attorney a court hearing must take place at which time the court will determine whether you are indigent. You must be found to be indigent in order to qualify for a court-appointed attorney. Our office cannot tell you whether or not you would be found to be indigent; that is up to the court to determine.
To request an attorney contact the District Court Referee's Office at 402-441-7651.
In a paternity case, the alleged father of a child has a right to request genetic testing.
You may request that our office grant you "good cause" for not cooperating with our office by filing out a Request for Good Cause Form. Your request for "good cause" will be reviewed and you will be notified of the office's decision. If the request for "good cause" is granted, we will close our case. If the request for "good cause" is not granted, you will be required to continue to cooperate with our office.
You can contact the Nebraska Child Support Customer Call Center at 402-441-8715 or 877-631-9973 (toll-free).