Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Child support is calculated according to the Child Support Guidelines, which is a formula set up by the Nebraska Supreme Court. Some of the factors that will be taken into account are:
They may be found at Nebraska Child Support Guidelines.
Yes, if the court case is here in Nebraska.
Usually, when a child support obligation is established for an incarcerated person, it is $50 per month, unless you are on a work release program, regardless of how many children you have to support. The order may be subject to an upward modification upon your release.
The court costs include filing fees and the costs of serving you. The costs will be in the neighborhood of $100. However, the exact amount of costs to be paid in your case will depend on how much we had to pay to get you served.
You pay court costs to the Clerk of the District Court. That office is located on the third floor at 575 S 10th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska.
If paternity is an issue in your case, you have the right to request a court-appointed attorney. If you request a court-appointed attorney a court hearing must take place at which time the court will determine whether you are indigent. You must be found to be indigent in order to qualify for a court-appointed attorney. Our office cannot tell you whether or not you would be found to be indigent; that is up to the court to determine.
If a child receives public assistance and one parent is not in the household, the Lancaster County Attorney's Office is required by state law to establish an order for child support and medical support.
If you have accepted public assistance benefits, you are required to cooperate with our office.
The amount of child support ordered depends on a number of different factors, including the number of other children the obligor supports and the income of both parents.
Yes. Depending on the specific circumstances of your case, we will either file the case here in Lancaster County, or send a request for establishment to the State in which he lives.
Child support in Nebraska bills each month through the month the last child of the order turns 19 years of age. If at the time the child turns 19 there is an outstanding balance due, that amount will continue to be owed and enforced until paid.