Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The Lancaster County Sheriff's Office is in the Justice and Law Enforcement Center. The physical location is:575 S 10th StreetLincoln, NE 68508
The Justice and Law Enforcement Center is a secured facility. View a list of prohibited items.
The County Sheriff is elected to a four-year term.
The County Sheriff is responsible for maintaining peace and enforcing the law in rural areas of the county and in towns and villages not having municipal police departments. The office investigates criminal offenses and traffic accidents, enforces traffic laws, and serves as a representative of the County Coroner in death investigations. Other duties include:
Visit our Recruiting page to find out more about applying to become a Lancaster County Sheriff's Deputy.
Our civil division page regarding domestic orders can help explain the process. Information is also available at:
The Nebraska State Patrol has a concealed weapons page that explains the procedure for obtaining a concealed weapon permit. You must apply for a permit in person at your nearest Nebraska State Patrol Troop Area offices or at the Criminal Identification Division of the State Patrol. Please see the NSP website for a listing of addresses, phone numbers and hours to make application.
Applications to obtain a handgun purchase permit must be filled out in person at the LSO Administrative Support Division service desk located on the first floor of the Hall of Justice between the hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m, Monday through Friday. Background checks and processing times vary. Visit the Firearms Permit page for more information.
Nebraska State Patrol3800 NW 12th Street Suite ALincoln, NE 68521Appointments Accepted Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.Phone: 402-479-4988
Lancaster County Sheriff's OfficeHall of Justice575 S 10th StreetLincoln, NE 685088 a.m. to 4 p.m, Monday through Friday
All sex offenders that are required by law to register and have never been registered in Nebraska, must do so in person at a Nebraska State Patrol office designated to accept registrations. Any Nebraska registered sex offender needing to update, change, or verify their information must do so in person at the County Sheriff's Office in their jurisdiction. The addresses above apply to any offender who lives (permanently or temporarily for more than three days), works, or attends school in Lancaster County. The Sheriff's Office will accept sex offender registrations between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday only.
If you are unsure if you are required to register as a sex offender, please visit the Nebraska State Patrol's website regarding sex offender registry.
Visit the Nebraska State Court Administrator's website to pay waiverable citations online.
The Lancaster County Sheriff's Office does not offer fingerprinting services. However, these services are available at:
Lincoln Police DepartmentJustice and Law Enforcement Center575 S 10th Street, Lincoln, NE 68524Phone: 402-441-7210Hours: Monday through Friday, 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.Fee: $5 for up to three cards. Additional cards are $5 each
Nebraska State PatrolInvestigative Services Center3800 NW 12th, Lincoln, NE 68524Phone: 402-479-4971Hours: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.Call to schedule an appointment
The Lancaster County Sheriff's Office accepts sex offender registrations and investigates registry violations under our jurisdiction. However, the Nebraska database of registered offenders is maintained by the Nebraska State Patrol. You can look up offenders on their public website.
Another resource, the Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website (NSOPW), coordinated by the U.S. Department of Justice, is a cooperative effort between Jurisdictions hosting public sex offender registries and the federal government.
The City of Lincoln has an ordinance regarding junk vehicles on private property, 10.42.110, and enforcement is handled by the Sheriff's Office within the three mile zoning jurisdiction of the City of Lincoln.
Download the Lancaster County Junk Vehicle informational letter that summarizes the ordinance.
If you which to file a complaint of misconduct on the part of a Deputy Sheriff, you can call 402-441-6500 anytime and ask to speak with a supervisor or you can come to the Sheriff’s Office in the Justice and Law Enforcement Center, located at 575 S 10th Street.
You can also email the Sheriff's Department. Please provide information so you can be re-contacted if needed, keeping in mind the email address is only monitored during business hours.