Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
All papers issued to the Sheriff’s Office for service, whether it be from the Courts or an attorney’s office, service will be attempted and then an invoice will be sent to the appropriate offices.
Papers from the litigants themselves must have a prepaid deposit, either by cash or credit/debit card payment OR a copy of your IFP Order from the court, before service.
The deposit is separate from any filing fees paid to the Court Clerk to have a paper issued so it will be necessary to either come directly to the Sheriff’s office to leave the deposit.
If you are filing papers with another court, please bring the papers to be served with you or mail them with a cover letter that includes your phone number so that we can contact you for payment prior to attempting service.
Any papers received from the courts where the litigants are requesting service, but have not paid for service through the Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office shall have their papers returned directly to the courts with no service attempted.
Fees for service inside Lancaster County:
• Filed in the state of Nebraska / to be served inside city limits of Lincoln - $25.00
• Filed in the state of Nebraska / to be served outside city limits of Lincoln- $50.00
• Filed in state other than Nebraska / to be served inside city limits of Lincoln -$35.00
• Filed in state other than Nebraska / to be served outside city limits of Lincoln -$50.00
CASH OR DEBIT/CREDIT CARDS ONLY – There is a $2.50 maintenance fee plus a 3.5% charge when paying with a card.
These fees are a combination of the cost for process, service, maintenance, mileage and return.
Service of process from courts outside of Nebraska is a courtesy this office is pleased to extend, however, it is not mandated by state statute nor can the Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office be bound by another state’s requirements for service.
One of the most frequently asked about civil procedures is the eviction process. The information contained on this page is for informational use only. For detailed information or legal advice, please contact an attorney, or research the references provided at the end of this article.
Legal eviction in Nebraska must be accomplished through a civil court lawsuit of forcible entry and detainer filed by the plaintiff/landlord versus the tenant that is to be evicted. The Sheriff’s Office role in the lawsuit is through the service of three different types of civil process generated by the procedure. Services the Sheriff’s Office provides in the eviction process are listed below in their respective order.
Unless some other type of action is specified in the Writ of Restitution, service will be executed as follows:
All services by the Sheriff’s Office require a prepaid cash or credit deposit before service will be attempted. Deposits for eviction services are:$ 25.00 - Notice to Quit, Summons, or Writ of Restitution within Lincoln city limits$ 50.00 - Notice to Quit, Summons, or Writ of Restitution outside Lincoln city limits and within Lancaster County$ 150.00 - Writ of Restitution on Mobile Homes Levied for Sheriff’s Sale
*Credit card charges will include a $2.50 maintenance fee and a 3.5% fee.
Following is a list of statutes that are applicable to these proceedings. They are in no way all-inclusive to this subject and are not to be construed as legal advice.
Nebraska Statutes are available at the Nebraska Law Library or online at Nebraska Legislature.25-21,219 through 25-21,235 : - Forcible entry and detainer76-1401 through 76-1449 : - Landlord and Tenant Act76-1450 through 76-14,111 : - Mobile Home Landlord and Tenant Act69-2301 through 69-2314 : - Disposition of Personal Property Landlord and Tenant Act
This can be done by requesting CivilView access for your law firm. Please call Destiny Czaplewski at (402) 441-7728 is you would like access. If you are not with a law firm, please call (402) 441-7724 to get more information about a civil paper.
Pay for Civil Process online through Lexis Nexis.
For any information regarding distress warrants, please visit the distress warrant page. This will inform you of what a distress warrant is. Payment of a distress warrant may be mailed or brought personally to the Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office at 575 S 10th Street. It should be sent/brought to the Civil Division, located on the first floor of the Justice and Law Enforcement Center.
The Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office holds Sheriff Sales on Thursdays at 2 p.m. in the exit foyer of the Justice and Law Enforcement Center. All of our sales are advertised for four consecutive weeks in The Daily Reporter, a weekly circular that contains all legal notices and sales. If interested in a subscription, you may contact The Daily Reporter at 402-466-8521. Or, we now have the Sheriff Sale listings posted on our website.
It should be noted that if you hear or know of a sale to be held at any other time than a Thursday at 2 p.m, it is not a Sheriff Sale and we are unable to assist you in any inquiries regarding them. If you should have inquiries regarding a Sheriff Sale, you may contact the Civil Division at 402-441-7724. All sales may be canceled up to the time of the sale.
Protection Orders are available through the County Sheriff. View the Protection Orders page for more information.
Time of service of papers varies. Each paper has statute limits on how long we have to make attempts and how many we must make. The deputy that is assigned to your paper will make as many diligent attempts as necessary in order to achieve service or enough information regarding whether the to-be served party currently resides at the provided address or if they may be avoiding service.
Orange notification cards are left at their residence upon each attempt with the Civil Department phone number and a reference paper number. This gives the to-be served party the opportunity to make arrangements for service for delivery or to pick it up at the Sheriff’s Office. Each paper is considered important and will be treated with respect and diligence. You may use this website to Inquire on your paper’s service by clicking on the “information” link and entering your court docket and page number.
Unfortunately, the Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office is unable to assist you. We are more than happy to assist you with the process the Sheriff’s Office is involved with and service of the required paperwork, but we are not attorneys and therefore are prohibited from giving legal advice or assistance. It has been suggested that use of the internet or law library may be useful to one that is wishing to proceed with the process without an attorney.
An execution is a legal judgment handed down from the court. These may follow a civil judgment or a small claims judgment. One must file for the execution in the courts, and pay for its service with our Civil Division. The cost of service of an Execution is equal to that of normal paper service, but an execution may be used for levy on personal property to gain restitution on a monetary judgment. Levy fees are as follows: